Text size: A+ A- |

Oxygen Committee

The Oxygen Committee is a group of young people who provide Moreland City Council with advice and recommendations on issues that affect young people in Moreland. This includes advice on the development of spaces that young people use and programs that run from Oxygen Youth Space, Moreland's purpose-built youth facility.

As a member of the Oxygen Committee you will gain more confidence, meet new friends, have fun and most importantly, advocate for other young people in Moreland about the issues that affect them.

What has the Oxygen Committee achieved so far?

The Oxygen Committee has achieved some key outcomes including:

  • Free outdoor wireless internet at Harmony Park, Coburg, and
  • Launch of Oxygen Youth Space - Moreland's first youth centre - in July 2013.
  • An Olympic size outdoor trampoline at Fawkner Leisure Centre
  • Involvement in the surveying of young people leading to the 2015 - 2018 Phase 2 Report and Action Plan (PDF 3Mb).
  • The extension of Oxygen Youth Space Stages 2 and 3
  • The Youth led actions listed in the 2015 - 2018 Phase 2 Report and Action Plan (PDF 3Mb) including:
    - An Anti bullying Campaign 'Products have labels, people have stories".
    - Acting as Oxygen ambassadors at various council events including The Sydney Road Street Party, Fawkner Festa and The Shift featuring Coles launch.

When does the Committee meet?


Once a month on Wednesdays, 6.30 - 8.30 pm.

Oxygen Youth Space, 4-8 Gaffney Street, Coburg North.

Terms of reference

Youth Facilities and Services Steering Committee terms of reference (DOC 68Kb)

Meeting minutes


Current members

The Youth Facilities and Services Steering Committee includes Cr Natalie Abboud and Cr Lambros Tapinos and young people aged 12 - 25 years old who live, work or study in Moreland:

  • Amelia Mazis
  • Gary Mao
  • Raquel Martins
  • Stephanie Elkington
  • Zainab Abou-Eid
  • Kostas Vassilacopoulos
  • Francesca Misurac
  • Awais Siddiqui
  • Hamza Dhedhy
  • David Vadori

Past members include:

  • Andrea Bozic
  • Jacinta Sheehan
  • Troy Koikas
  • Sarah Groves
  • Antonio Youssef
  • Isabella Bernal
  • Cody Nolan
  • Marissa Butera
  • Thomas Cavuto
  • Khalid Chakli
  • Anthony Cianflone
  • Mohamed Elrafihi
  • Ruby Haynes
  • Joanne Massoud
  • Zuhre Mehmet
  • Jasmine Ouaida
  • Annemarie Valentini
  • Rana Erdal
  • David Murikumthara
  • Sarah Alihos
  • Michael Samoun
  • Anthony Simioni
  • Yasmin Jarkan